Doggie Style

Emily_Maltese
A long day,
and I walk into the house.
I flip the light and see
my dog.
She wags her tail and barks.
I walk toward her
and she lays on her back,
a trusting one.

I bend over
and rub her belly
as she licks my hand.
Finally,
someone is glad to see me today.
I smile as I kick off my shoes.
I sit on the sofa as she meets me,
licking my face.
Her happiness is shown in actions,
and no words are necessary.

I wish a dog on anyone that is lonely.
No matter how bad the day,
you will always go to bed
knowing somebody loves
and misses you.

It shows in their lick.

©Copyright 2008 by Kurt Rees.
All rights reserved

23 thoughts on “Doggie Style

  1. Hi Kurt,

    Thanks for visiting my weblog and signing up to follow me. I love this poem. I have two dogs who love me and whom I love, and I, too, wish every lonely person in the world a dog to love them.

  2. Anybody who loves animals is friend of me. I love your poem.
    I have a question. How did you get the copy right? I’ve seen my writings (they are all over the place) being stolen many times. It hurts me a lot. Can you help me?
    One more question! I am very new to the Word Press. I am trying to put up a picture for my Gravatar to no avail. I follow all the instruction, yet my picture doesn’t come. Can you help me? I am sorry to ask you for help. Today is my third day on this site so I am very new …

  3. Dogs are such beautiful animals and know how to brighten your day. I love how you incorporated the character of a dog into your poem. Very cute picture and I totally agree, that a dog is the perfect pet for anyone who is feeling lonely. They give so much of themselves to the owner, they are loyal and trusting, sometimes more than a human friend.

  4. I agree. My dog, Terri, was the best! (I am sure we all feel that way about our little buddies.) I miss her. She was old and sick, and I had to put her out of her misery.

Leave a Reply

