Empty Heart

black-and-white-empty-empty-heart-heart-Favim.com-501667
There is a place
in our heart
that will always be
empty.

We all look
for that one thing
that will fill
the emptiness.
Some think the love
of another
will fill it,
and find out
it was never to be.

People look for
a spiritual way
to fill the empty space,
and do,
but realize the
emptiness is still there.

We all have this pit
in our heart
we hope will be filled with love,
spirit,
or material things.
Maybe,
we are destined
to have this hollow
feeling
our entire life.

Β©Copyright 2009 by Kurt Rees.
All rights reserved

24 thoughts on “Empty Heart

  1. …well, it not over until its over…this is a poem to think and reason about, that only grace of God can fill the empty place in the heart of men

  2. Wow! It’s ironic that I read this today. I’m kind of in a moral dilemma and the empty space in my heart is behind the wheel. It’s nice to know that I’m not alone in feeling this way ;/ This was a good poem πŸ™‚

  3. I loved your poem. I am so happy to have found your blog. I look forward to reading more of your work!! Very nice!! πŸ™‚

  4. What you are searching for Curt, is TRUTH. Once you’ve found it, only then you shall your heart be filles with the unconditional love you seek. I bet you want to go home too? Don’t worry, you’re not alone. There are many of us to help you along the way. Have you been nice to your chakras lately? If not, give it a try πŸ™‚

    XOXOXO,

    AngelEyes

  5. Very true πŸ™‚
    When I receive Christ as my Lord and Saviour, my heart feels at ease and begin to understand certain things that my mind can’t fathom before πŸ™‚

    • I did accept Christ as well… I just think in the world we live in, no matter what you believe, the yearning to fill the heart is always there. Your wanting to know Christ more is a way to fill the heart continuously. This is just a piece letting everyone know that it will never be filled all the way.

      • The way I interpret your words reminded me of
        Ecclesiastes 3:10-12 (NIV)
        I have seen the burden God has laid on the human race. He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. I know that there is nothing better for people than to be happy and to do good while they live.

        I feel that our hearts will be full when Christ comes again.
        We are like the bride anticipating for the Bridegroom’s coming. πŸ™‚

  6. I like this its true. I don’t think anyone starts out with emptiness in their heart I think the people we loose and life gradually takes away from the heart, leaving an empty void. Great little piece!

    • You are right, and it was kind of what I was going for with this piece. I figured there might be some that may not get it, but it could mean something different to someone else as well. Thanks for stopping by!

  7. Excellent piece but I have to disagree while still agreeing. Yes, we do all have this empty spot. However, I firmly believe it can be filled. Maybe… We fill this emptiness when we stop trying to fill it…

Leave a Reply

