Never Missed

88c4993e-cdf9-3278-b87e-7b899cbd383d
Your widow posted
the bloody glasses this week.
Many thought it was in bad taste,
and others
thought it was perfect timing
for what the country
is experiencing.

I always loved the music,
from the time you were fab
until and beyond
the time you left us.
But I can see that you still
are making statements,
even beyond the grave,
with the help of your widow.

It has been over thirty years
and I wonder what the music
would have sounded like today,
what the lyrics would say.
I listen to your music now,
it is still timeless
and the lyrics still move.
There is not a day that goes by
where I don’t hear one of your songs,
sing one of them,
or think about one.

Many people missed you,
and many still do.
I never did.

Because you never left.

©Copyright 2013 by Kurt Rees.
All rights reserved.

10 thoughts on “Never Missed

  1. Reblogged this on ProvocativelE and commented:
    I used to play my dad’s 45 of “Hey Jude” over and over as it always made me feel better.

    I find myself listening to his music more often these days, mostly due to a friend that brought his music back to me.

    True beauty and timeless words will never disappear from the world.

  2. Nice! instant karma gonna get ’em – this is an (A) SIDE – PLAY LOUD. The photo is great as well – the lens on the left tells such a different story from the frame on the right.

Leave a Reply

